The Double Churches located in the Ancient City of Ephesus are also known as the Consul Church of Ephesus. Double Churches located opposite the Byzantine baths. Double Church was named after the style of construction, which was built in the period of Emperor Hadrian in the 2nd century and turned into a basilica during the Byzantine period.
An inscription was discovered in 1904 saying the Double Church was built for Virgin Mary. Consul meetings were held between 431 and 438 in this church. Virgin Mary was accepted as the Mother of God during the first council in Ephesus.
The Consul Church measures 26.5 × 29.5 meters and has a colonnaded entrance on the front. The floor of the church is made of mosaics and there are embossed cross motifs on the walls. There is a baptismal pool in the middle of the church’s courtyard.